Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater Book Review

IMG_0894[1]

Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★★

I really got hooked from Chapter 12 onwards and I definately think this book has made me get excited about reading YA paranormal romance again! I loved this book and I’m glad I’ve got a copy of Linger from the library, ready for me to get into.

I really did enjoy the story, I’ve never read a book focused on wolves before. The idea of the wolves was very interesting and even by the end of the book, we haven’t found out everything about the world of the wolves. The writing was great as other people have said and there were many beautiful quotes.

The main characters, Sam and Grace were brilliant. Sam seems like such a cute guy, he was quite a romantic. His past was so tragic and his future seems so bleak as he counts down the days. I liked Grace, she was a quick thinker and her relationship with Sam was very sweet. She’s a kind person and she cared for Sam a lot. Isabel was that posh, stuck up person that you ended up liking. Beck was a mysterious person, you don’t know whether he was a good person inside throughout the book as his actions seemed a bit questionable.

Some tiny tiny negative aspects were the instalove. I’m sure Grace saved Sam and they just fell in love. And they’d never even spoken to each other, human to human before. And also reading through some of the goodreads reviews, I agree with the comments on Grace’s parents. They are a bit odd – how do you leave your child in a car and just forget about them?

Towards the end of the book so much happened, some moments were shocking and some were so heartbreaking.

Overall, this book has got me back into paranormal romance and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series as the last page in Shiver left a lot of questions to be answered.

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/358201516

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

