The Bodyguard @ The Palace Theatre ~ 26th December 2015

File 29-12-2015, 01 04 30

Theatre is not really something I had take an interest in before but since this summer after seeing ‘The Woman in Black’ in London, I decided that I did want to go an see more shows.

I’d never seen the film so I didn’t really know what to expect – but I was not disappointed! At today’s Boxing Day performance, Alexandra Burke wasn’t performing, with Zoe Birkett taking on the role of Rachel and Stuart Reid as Frank Farmer.

I thought the set design was great, the way they transitioned was so smooth. Rachel’s house looked luxurious, Frank’s cabin looked cosy. I thought some of the costumes were so pretty like Rachel’s dresses.

The special effects were also exciting, I could actually feel the warmth of the blasts of fire even from the circle! The parts where Rachel played a concert in the play made me feel like I was actually watching a concert.

The use of video projected on the big screen was something I hadn’t seen before in theatre. Also at one point whilst Rachel was singing a big screen came down with Frank’s face on it,  it was translucent so you could see Rachel singing to him. I thought that was a nice touch.

Rachel and Nikki had amazing, powerful voices. And I thought the scene where Frank did karaoke was very funny! Frank and Rachel had great scenes together and their interaction with Fletcher was cute. The American accents of the all the actors was great!

The parts where the villain came on stage was quite chilling and he also had a bit of interaction with the audience and he actually got up into one of the boxes in the theatre which was quite exciting.

This musical was great, loved the characters, loved the songs and I felt the story was gripping throughout!

At the end of the performance, all the cast came out on stage did a bow and then it was time for one last song. It was quite funny when the stalker came out and got booed so loud.

All the cast members joined in with the dance, so much energy and made for a fantastic end to the night!

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

