Death Cab for Cutie @ Manchester Academy ~ 3rd November 2015

IMG_6063

I listened to a show on BBC radio 6 where Brian Molko of Placebo (My favourite band ^^) put together a playlist of some of his favourite songs and ‘Tiny Vessels‘ by Death Cab for Cutie was one of these songs. It is such a beautiful song with a sad tone to it. ‘She was beautiful but she didn’t mean a thing to me‘. Then Death Cab announced a few shows in the UK and Manchester was one of those, I thought – they don’t come here often so I might as well go ūüôā

I went to this with my good friend Atiqah. We didn’t queue up that early, but we weren’t too far from the front! (Quite surprising!) When we got in I bought a t-shirt and then we got a place in the crowd. We were quite centred and one row from the front, although this did sound good…I had a really tall guy in front of me who was basically stuck to his girlfriend engaging in¬†PDA all through the concert -_-.

IMG_5969

The support was a band called Chastity belt, I’d never heard of them before.¬†At first it sounded a bit strange because the main vocalist’s voice was a bit off? But I suppose it was how intentional. I loved the way the drummer played the drums and made it look so easy, which it probably isn’t haha. I would love to try out the drums one day.¬†For one of the songs the guitarist took over the vocals and she sounded amazing. That song ‘Lydia‘ was one of my favourites by Chastity Belt.

There was a bit of a wait and then Death Cab came on kicked off with ‘No Room in Frame‘, a very cute song. I was quite mesmerised by the way Ben moved on stage. Side to side, singing and guitar in hand. ‘Crooked Teeth‘ was one of my standouts, it’s got such a happy melody and a bounce. They sang ‘Photobooth‘ – a song that I wasn’t familiar with. It had a very funky computer-made beat.

IMG_5980

They sang ‘Black Sun‘ one of the singles taken from Kintsugi, I love the drive of this song and the way it is sung – the little breaks that they take between singing each set of words.¬†I love the cool vibes of this song and especially the pre-chorus,

How could, something, so fair, be so cruel, when this, black sun, revolved around you,

How could, something, so fair, be so cruel, when this, black sun, revolved around you‘.

Then all the lights went out and the loud and striking beats of ‘New Year‘ were played. I thought there was great coordination with the lights, they really added to the song. Then they played another one of my favourites from Kintsugi, ‘The Ghosts of Beverly Drive‘. The opening of the song feels quite chilled but there is this driving beat of the drums again before the guitar joins in. This song has so many layers to it, I love the little instrumental bit at 2:10.

IMG_6008

Grapevine Fires‘ was a sad little song, loved the drums in this song and the extended instrumental section. ‘Little Wanderer‘ had a very pretty chorus. ‘Company Calls‘ was a very fast paced song, Ben was strumming very fast and dancing side to side. ‘You’ve Haunted Me All My Life’ was¬†quite a slow song with big drums, rather relaxing. For ‘What Sarah Said‘, Ben got behind the piano. His voice in this was¬†great and the repeated melody of the piano sounded wonderful. There was a point where Ben sang a note and held it for such a long time! He¬†received many cheers for that.

IMG_5987

One of the most well known DCFC songs is probably ‘I Will Follow You Into the Dark‘. All the band left the stage leaving just Ben and his acoustic guitar. This song is a sweet little tune, but the lyrics are a bit dark. It was beautiful with the crowd singing along. ‘I Will Possess Your Heart‘ is dominated by a driving instrumental, with the vocals coming in quite late.’Everything’s a Ceiling‘ is one of my favourites. It makes me feel so optimistic and happy!! Ben got out his maracas (shakers?) for this song.

They played ‘You Are a Tourist‘, another one of their most popular songs.¬†Absolutely loved the jolly guitars and the way Ben sings this song. Another song that makes me feel happy.¬†‘Cath…‘ was one of my new favourite discoveries of the night. Went home and watched the video, it was rather sad. I really enjoyed the part with the short drum beat followed by the vocals.

Cath,

She stands with a well-intentioned man‘.

IMG_6061

Soul Meets Body‘ was a song with many different layers, ¬†ba ba ba ba ba da, ba ba ba…ect. Very catchy guitars and drums. And I enjoy the way he sings ‘I do, believe it’s true‘.¬†Before ‘Bixby Canyon Bridge‘, the band thanked chastity belt again and said we’ll see you guys soon to the audience. This is such an atmospheric song. I loved the strong powerful drum beats that followed the slow sweeping vocals from Ben.

Encore

IMG_5981

They came back and sang ‘Your Heart is an Empty Room‘ – this song was a very sweet song with tinkling piano, sung with a lot of feeling. ‘Brothers on a Hotel Bed‘ started off with slow piano, before the drums come in. Loved the rolling drums. I really enjoyed the part in ‘A Movie Script Ending’ where Ben sings ‘High-way‘ repeatedly haha

Transatlanticism‘ is one of my all time favourite DCFC songs. It is stunning live. Once again, Ben got back behind the piano. Some of the crowd became quite emotional during this song.The lyrics are beautiful.

I need you so much closer‘.

Looking back at the set list, they sang so many songs!! Loved experiencing this concert with one of my best friends, such a treat to hear many amazing songs. Came out of this very happy indeed! After this I went out and purchased physical copies of Kintsugi.

Here’s my montage of the concert:

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

