Funeral for a Friend @ O2 Ritz ~ 8th April 2016

At the time of the concert, I was still quite new to the band. The only album I’d heard (and loved) was Hours. Through social media, I’d read that FFAF were splitting up and had announced their final ‘Last Chance to Dance’ tour. They were playing two nights at The Ritz Manchester and they were going to play Hours in full, on one of those nights. I thought: I love the album and it’s going to be my last chance to see this band live so I bought my tickets (a year in advance).

I really like the venue, there’s quite a big balcony and I like to stand up there when I’m on my own. Great view of the stage and not blocked by tall people.

First up was a band called Zoax, not my style of music, but they were fun. I think I’d describe the main guy as charismatic. The floor was still quite empty when they came on. He spent half of his set – off the stage. He wondered round the floor screaming down random people’s ears (as part of the song). He even came up to the balcony to continue his set, whilst the tech staff were desperately trying to get the mic up there.

DSC00701.JPG

When FFAF came on stage, Matt started with a heartfelt, little speech. Telling everyone to enjoy themselves as it was a special night. “Manchester let’s all get through this together!”  Throughout most of the concert, the crowd on the floor were going wild, singing along, lots of jumping and a there was a permanent mosh pit at the front and centre.

Roses for the Dead‘ is a special one for me, it was the first song I heard by the band. The bit leading up to the chorus and then when the chorus hits with

It’s not your fault,

You feel okay,

It’s too late in the day” – just amazing.

DSC00697.JPG

The tone of ‘History’ really fitted the night, sounded very melancholic. A song that you’d stick your arm in the air and sway to. Beautiful. For the song ‘Recovery‘, the cow and chicken (fans dressed up as a cow and chicken) got invited onto the stage. They danced around, hugged the members of the band and mouthed along with the lyrics. Quite the sight to behold.

I Am the Arsonist‘ was quite a cute little song. It was just Matt on his own strumming on his electric guitar. I felt the song ‘Sixteen‘ sounded quite different from FFAFs sound, very pop punk. Very fun! I was familiar with the song ‘1%‘ from their newest album, Chapter and Verse, really enjoy this one – especially the drums.

DSC00702.JPG

Into Oblivion (Reunion)‘ was another quite happy sounding song. Matt told everyone to sit down at the start of this song and to start a rowing motion. Really uplifting sounding chorus. For ‘Juneau‘ the band brought Adam Carroll (Zoax) back on to do the screaming parts. This is such a good song, love the sound.

Overall, really enjoyed this concert. Just being there, I could feel the united feeling between the fans. Thankful for all the music this band has produced and the memories they have given to the fans, throughout the years.

Check out the little montage of the concert

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

