A Place For Us To Dream – 20 Years Of Placebo’ Deluxe Box Set, Black Vinyl + Signed Edition (Unboxing)

Placebo posted about this new special edition box in the Summer, 2016. I was immediately on this! – even though I didn’t even have a record player at the time. I pre-ordered the black vinyl box set signed by Brian and Stefan. The package arrived and was just sat there for a while, unopened. I finally bought myself a record player this month (Nov) and only then did I allow myself to open up the package.

The box set is stunning and so is the music. I really like the album name, ‘A Place for Us to Dream’, feels very optimistic. The box set comes in a good quality, navy coloured box, it’s thick and feels like it is lined with some sort of fabric-like material.

In the box there’s a 24 page book with images of the band spanning their 20 year career. Brian is on the front of the booklet, whilst Stefan is on the back. I’m so lucky to get my hands on the signed version. So happy about that!! I really love the purple colours, cosmic feel and the silver sparkles.

There are 4 vinyl records in this set. I think it’s a really great selection of songs. Some tracks are the same as those on the original albums. They included ‘Jesus’ Son’, a new track released this year. They also included quite a lot of special versions of songs, radio edits and single versions.

36 Degrees (Version 2016)‘ and ‘Because I Want You (Redux)‘ are absolutely beautiful songs. Brian has to be one of my all time favourite vocalists, his voice is so unique and has so much emotion.

Have to mention some songs not found on the normal versions of the albums:

Without You I’m Nothing (feat. David Bowie)‘ – was released as a single in 1999.

Soulmates‘ – B-Side for the single ‘This Picture’.

I Know (Version 2008)

Breathe Underwater (Slow)‘ – I wasn’t too much of a fan of the faster version featured on 2009’s Battle for the Sun album, but I love this version!

Lazarus‘ and ‘Running Up That Hill‘ – featured on the US version of the album, Meds.

You also got a download card to easily get high-res digital versions of all the tracks. (Great bonus!)

As a MASSIVE Placebo fan, this box set is a very special item for me to own. I can proudly say the first vinyl record I ever owned was a Placebo one. I’m so excited to see the band again for the third time on the 5th December!

The unsigned box set is still available on Placebo’s webstore : here

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

