Review: To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I never read this book during school but I’ve always heard amazing things about it. I found this book for £1 in a charity shop and it looked like it had never been read!

Initially, I found this book quite hard to get into. I did not know what was going on. But as I read more, I got more into it. The setting of America in the 1930s is not something I’ve read much about but it was very well described. I could imagine how hot and dry it was. I did find it strange how Scout and Jem called their dad by his first name.

Some of the characters are so mean and their views are just wrong! Some of the things Mrs Dubose came out with! And also it annoyed me when Scout got scolded by her teacher for being literate – what! Oooo and the Ewells, what a horrible bunch!

I liked Atticus, he had many wise words and he was very wise. He was a good man. I really admired how he defended Tom Robinson even with all the abuse and nasty comments that he received. I also loved how his children stood up for him.

The court scene was really interesting. I think court scenes are my thing. I really related to Dill’s and Jem’s reaction to the events occurring in the courts – how upset they were at the injustice. Jem exclaimed, “How could they do it, how could they?” at the jury’s verdict. One of the quotes I really found moving was Atticus’s reply, “I don’t know, but they did it. They’ve done it before and they did it tonight and they’ll do it again and when they do it – seems only children weep.”

I felt the book was quite slow and steady in pace the majority of the time but then it all went off during the last few pages! It was quite shocking really. Boo Radley!

There is another powerful speech by Atticus: “If there’s just one kind of folks, why can’t they get along with each other? If they’re all alike, why do they go out of their way to despise each other?”

View all my reviews

Author: annagoestoconcerts

Hello, I'm Anna! ^^ I'm 22 and live in the UK. Currently a uni student studying Biomedical Sciences. Placebo, Basement, MCR.

Leave a Reply

